I wrote a poem

Flicking through the pages of my notebook, I found this poem I wrote a few months ago.

I waited for you even before you told me you were coming.
And you may have known this. I think you did.
I think you saw it written on the back of my neck
or on the right lobe of my brain.
I think you may have accidentally found out in my mouth.
It may have been obvious. I may have even said it.
The fact remains though that you abused it.
And when I looked at you with tired eyes and a resigned
smile,
And when I knew you weren’t really mine
But you belonged to them –
those who are not me, who I could never be.
And when I looked at you,
pleading in silence,
Begging without saying a word,
When the premature lines on my face spelled heartbreak
As clear as the night which promised no stars,
You did nothing and I remained steadfast,
Unsurprised.
I knew it would always be this way:
Me – waiting, watching, wanting
you – passive, uncaring, unloving.
Not mine, of course.
But theirs.
And how could I compete, how can I compare,
When you are not mine, but theirs.

One thought on “I wrote a poem

Leave a comment